2015 Mallory Results

Saturday, May 9:

The first day of the 2015 Mallory Trophy started out with cloudy conditions in Annapolis. The fleet headed out at 1000 but was delayed on the water for a while due to lack of wind. Eventually, a course was set in the Severn River off the Robert Crown Center and 4 Windward Leeward Races were held per division. A division started in Z420s while B was in FJS. After a lunch break and a failed attempt to get more racing in in the early afternoon, a course was eventually set late in the day under sunny skies for three more races per division. The wind was light all day and all races were sailed in 3-5 knots of wind. PRO Kyle Assad and his RC team did a great job of making the most out of the conditions while our incredible judge team of Sandy Grosvenor, Jeff Borland, Rob Rowlands, Andrew Cole, David Clinnin and Josh Greenslade kept everything fair by enforcing rule 42 on the water and hearing two protests, resulting in one DSQ, at the end of the day.

Sunday, May 10:

When the competitors arrived Sunday morning, the racing area was covered in fog. The fog began to lift as the fleet left the dock however, and racing began on time off Triton Point. For Sunday's racing, B division switched into the Z420s and A sailed FJs. The wind started out light, but as the fog faded away and the air got clear and warm, the wind steadily increased, hitting the mid to upper teens by the afternoon. In all, 11 additional races per division were completed with a lunch break before the 4PM cutoff. The RC team did a terrific job getting off fair races quickly while our outstanding judges served many duties, including calling rule 42 violations, observing the racing, shuttling substitutes onto the water and hearing protests at the end of the day, which resulted in 2 DSQs. After a long weekend sailing in a wide range of conditions, Newport Harbor High School came out on top to claim the 2015 Mallory Trophy. Congratulations to the Sailors!


Newport Harbor High School

Sean Segerblom '16 | Briggs D'Eliscu '16| Andrew Person '17 | 

Campbell D'Eliscu '15 | Madeline Bubb '16 | Davis Hanscom '15