2011 Mallory Results

2011 Mallory Results
Austin Yacht Club and SEISA
May 6-8, 2011



Austin Yacht Club hosted a memorable High School National Championship for the Mallory Trophy on scenic Lake Travis. Despite recent drought conditions that contributed to seasonally low water levels, the breeze was exceptional for sailboat racing with two or three shifts per beat in 12-20 knots of pressure from the south. Sailors and spectators were treated to participating and watching one of the most talented groups of high school sailors ever assembled. Nineteen races in both divisions were expertly managed by the Austin YC RC team that tweaked and shifted things efficiently to keep the racing continuous without interruption in water depths ranging from 120’ to 12’. Antilles High School from the US Virgin Islands prevailed to win the overall championship by a 20 point margin over Coronado High School. A totally dominating performance by their “B” squad of Ian Barrows, Nicole Barnes and Alec Tayler was clinched by winning of 8 of 19 races. The “A” division crown belonged to the Cathedral Catholic High School Team of Nevin Snow, Sutton Tucker and Patrick Snow who led their division by 14 pts by regatta end. Every event’s success is totally attributable to the dedicated job by its core group of volunteers who work tirelessly to make everything come together on race day. The list below is a summary of the many folks who made this event a fun and memorable experience for the best high school sailors in the country.

Event Chairs - Steve Gay,  Bridget and Eric Richard
SEISA District Director/Rep - Malinda Crain
AYC Commodore Jim Tillinghast and General Manager Steve Hawks
Judges - Brad Davis, Mark Smith, John Diggins, June Shaw, Fields Gunsett, and Chris Luppens.
Scoring - Jorge Trevino
Food and Hospitality - Eric and Bridget Richard, Thomas Peel, Kathy Ellenbrook, Anna Snow
UT Longhorn volunteers - hospitality, boat fixing and put away by Rockwall Heath HS Team and Sailgroove - Cait Taylor, Matt Lenz, Luke Craigin, Richard Cathriner, Wendy Ji
Photography - Bruce MacDonald, Bill Records and Tom Monkus.
Austin YC Race Committee - Vic Manning, Barry Bowden, Mike Summerland, John Cooper, Ray Shull, John Morran, Brent Schwann, Charlie Arnold, John Saunders, Steve Brown, Dane Ohe and PRO Franny Charles.