1999 Mallory Results

Mallory Trophy 1999
Grosse Pointe, MI
May 7- May 9, 1999

The top four finishers in the 1999 ISSA Doublehanded Championship (Mallory) were California high schools, the top three within 18 points of each other after 14 races in each of two divisions. Racing at Grosse Pointe YC in CFJs supplied by local clubs, the winning University of San Diego HS team outpaced the best non-California school by almost 100 points. Conditions ranged from mild and flat to brisk and choppy, giving a fair test to competitors drawn nationwide from 20 schools representing each of ISSA's seven districts. Regatta Chairs Jack Sullivan and Rick Wolney made this first-ever ISSA championship at GPYC truly memorable with PRO Marcia Everingham keeping a brisk pace for the near-round-robin series. Uni's Bryan Lake and his crews Carrie Megla, Maria Argoud and Tanner Marsh topped A and Newport Harbor HS' B skipper Troy Treaccar with crews Paige Thompson/Gary Grimes earned Regatta Low-Point honors.
——Larry White