ISSA Singlehanded Nationals

Rev: May 2006

Interscholastic Sailing Association
Conditions for ISSA Cressy Singlehanded National Championship

This event shall normally be scheduled by the ISSA Board of Directors for a weekend in the Fall that is either a weekend prior to or after the Intercollegiate Sailing Association Singlehanded National Championships. This event shall not exceed two days in length. The Friday prior to the event shall be used for registration and practice. No race shall be started after 1600 on the last day.

The number of entrants awarded to each district shall be based on the number of eligible schools reported by each member district to the President of ISSA on June first of each year. The number of berths shall be calculated using the following formula:

The number of allotted berths for each district equals the number of eligible schools in the district, times sixteen, divided by the total number of ISSA eligible schools.
All districts get at least one berth.

If the integers of the numbers do not add up to sixteen, the allotted berths not assigned shall be assigned in descending order starting with the highest decimal portion of the allotted berths numbers, disregarding berth allotments with zero as an integer.

Refer to the ISSA Procedural Rules and the General Conditions for ISSA National Regattas.

Each team shall consist of one person. If a District is awarded more than one berth, schools may not be limited to one team. However, the teams that they send must have qualified through their district.

Regatta Format:
The event shall be sailed in Laser Full Rigs and Laser Radials as two separate regattas. The fleets shall sail using a round-robin change-of-boat system. However, when new boats are provided, one boat may be assigned to one sailor for the entire regatta.

Special Conditions:
The top finishers from this Championship may be invited to sail in the O’Day Trophy Regatta, USSAILING’s singlehanded sailing championship.

The winner’s name and school shall be engraved on the Cressy Trophy. Keeper trophies provided by ISSA shall be awarded to the top three teams in each fleet.