Rev: June 2010

## ISSA Team Racing Nationals (Toby Baker Trophy) Official Format Options

A Qualifying Round using a single round-robin of all 12 teams will be sailed. The top four schools in the Qualifying Round will sail a Championship Division double round-robin with all Qualifying Round scores carrying over. Schools placing 5-8 in the Qualifying Round will sail a Silver Division single round-robin with all scores carrying over. Schools placing 9-12 in the Qualifying Round will sail a Bronze Division single round-robin with all scores carrying over.

In accordance with ISSA PR 12.3, if conditions make the announced format unmanageable, the Regatta Chair and Chief Umpire may alter the format at any time as they deem fair to ensure an equitable determination of the winner. If it is necessary to change the format, the priority protocol will be as follows:

**Plan B:** If only the Qualifying Round robin has been completed, the results will stand as the championship. If any of the subsequent round robins (Championship, Silver or Bronze) have been completed, the results up to that point will stand for the regatta. Results from round robins not completed will only be used to break a tie.

**Plan C:** If the Regatta Chair and Chief Umpire deem that it is unmanageable to complete the Qualifying Round in the time allotted, then the regatta reverts back to the results through race #30. At that point, each school will have sailed against the five other schools in their predetermined division (see below). Schools will be ranked first through sixth in their division.

There will be a sail-off as defined below between the top teams depending on time.

**Option #1:** The top two schools in each predetermined division will sail a "Final Four" round robin (Double or Single depending on time). If time permits the schools ranked 3 and 4 in each predetermined division will sail a round robin for place 5<sup>th</sup> through 8<sup>th</sup> and the schools ranked 5 and 6 in each predetermined division will sail a round robin for 9<sup>th</sup> through 12<sup>th</sup>.

**Option #2:** The first place schools in each division will sail off for first and second place in the regatta. The second place schools in each division will sail off for third and fourth place in the regatta. Other races for places 5-12 in the regatta may happen if time permits using the same formula. Unless otherwise defined in the Sailing Instructions, a sail-off shall be defined as a best of three series (first team to two wins).

**Option #3:** If time does not permit any more races, the first place schools in each division will tie for the Championship, and the second place schools in each division will tie for third place in the championship. This changes PR12.1.

The preliminary seeding is as follows (this may be changed after the results of the XXXX (current year) Mallory:

Division A Division B

A = SAISA #1 G = SAISA #2

B = PCISA #2 H = PCISA #1

Rev: June 2010

C = NESSA #1 I = NESSA #2 D = MASSA #2 J = MASSA #1 E = MWSSA #1 K = SEISA #1 F = NWISA #1 L = PCISA #3

**Plan D:** If the Qualifying Round has not reached race #30 by the end of the time limit, then the regatta is discontinued and there will be no champion crowned for the year.